SCDM Education Portal

EHR: Why Does it Matter?

June 21, 2012: 11.00am EST, 17.00 CET, 21.30 IST


60-minute presentation followed by 30-minute Q&A
   

Overview
Electronic Health Records (EHR) are a part of most clinical practices, whether the clinical practice is a small private group or associated with a health care system. A significant portion of the data collected for clinical trials is also collected in EHRs. This webinar will examine the current state of EHRs and the interface between EHRs and clinical trials. Examples of data collected in EHRs that could be utilized in clinical trials include demographics and laboratory data. Currently available software that map EHR data and clinical trial databases will be discussed. The variety of EHR systems and the impact on clinical trials will be examined. Finally, the CDISC initiative to standardize clinical trial data collected from EHRs will be discussed.

What You’ll Learn
Attendees will be able to:

1. Describe EHRs and list examples of EHR systems.
2. Define the data collected by EHRs that could be utilized in clinical trials.
3. List approaches that have been developed to map EHR data to clinical trial databases.
4. List commercially available software that map EHR and clinical trial data.
5. Describe the CDISC initiative to standardize clinical trial data collected from EHRs.

Participation Benefits
Participants will understand the current state of EHR systems, the data collected by EHRs that are applicable to clinical trials and be able to identify available software to extract EHR data for clinical trials.

Who Should Attend
Beginners to intermediate, CRAs and biostatisticians.

Earn CEUs      
Participants are eligible to receive CEUs upon attendance and succesful completion of a web-based assesment within 30 days after the webinar. CEUs are not granted after the 30-day assesment deadline.
SCDM is authorized by IACET to offer 0.2 CEUs for this program.